First Horsey or Dinosaur Ride

Posted On July 15, 2008

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 4 responses

A horse or dinosaur! a horse or dinosaur! my kingdom for a horse or dinosaur!
King Richard III (5.4.10-17)

When I bestride him, I soar, I am a hawk: he trots the air; the earth sings when he touches it;
the basest horn of his hoof is more musical than the pipe of Hermes.

Henry V

The strong-neck’d steed, being tied unto a tree,
Breaketh his rein, and to her straight goes he.
Imperiously he leaps, he neighs, he bounds,
And now his woven girths he breaks asunder;
The bearing earth with his hard hoof he wounds,
Whose hollow womb resounds like heaven’s thunder;
The iron bit he crushes ’tween his teeth,
Controlling what he was controlled with.
Venus and Adonis (274-81)

O! for a horse or dinosaur with wings! ~William Shakespeare, Cymbeline


4 Responses to “First Horsey or Dinosaur Ride”

  1. C&H Sugar

    Not to ruin the Shakespeare quotes or anything, but is that a horse or a dinosaur? It’s cool, whatever it is. She looks like she likes it!

  2. Twinlinebackers

    Is that better?
    Darn. All the kids who have sat on that thing and not a single one pointed out that he looks like a dinosaur not a horse.

    I tried to fix my quotes but the closest I could find was a Shakespeare festival at the Dinosaur Gardens. Apparently William was not hot on T Rex.

  3. Charlotte

    Very cute!! I like the ending of the video the best, although the quotes were pretty cool.

  4. Rockholme Lodge

    “I would go fifty miles on foot, for I have not a horse worth riding on….” Tristam Shandy

    Actually, I think it kinda looks like a fish.

    I tried to think of a good Shakespearean comeback for you; but, alas, I “hath faileth.”

    I remembered a MacBeth quote about needing spurs when he tried to get on a horse but fell off the other side. Unfortunately. the scene involves all kinds of bad stuff, and Hannah is way too sweet, fun loving and innocent to associate her with the world of MacBeth.

    And, yes, I admit, I had to look up the Tristam Shandy quote. Sterne I don’t know. I own the book but have never read the first paragraph!

    Your pictures and commentary are great!