Downhills mastered

Posted On July 16, 2008

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 7 responses

Tackler finally mastered downhills.
Dad was stuck at the salt mine (aka golf course) all day and evening so the kids and I took a leisurely after dinner bike ride yesterday. By leisurely I mean over two miles and we were tuckered out by the end.

Prince has no fear on his bike. One of our first rides of the summer we cut through the back side of a nearby school. There was a dirt path that I really struggled with the stroller. There were rocks and roots galore. My tiny little boy just sped down them like a seasoned mountain biker.

Tackler on the other hand has been intimidated by anything with a greater than 2 degree incline. In a parking lot once I had to show him that if we let go of his bike it would stand perfectly still because there really was NOT a hill.

Somehow he overcame his hill timidity yesterday. We went up a long steady incline that tired out Prince so Tackler had to keep circling back to us. I think he was racing ahead JUST for an excuse to sail back down the hill to us. Yeah! I love when they overcome a former problem. He was so excited about hills!

And that little girl? She enjoyed a lovely nap in the stroller and just woke up for the picture after mom ran back in the house for the camera. She is wearing a dress that was mine when I was little. Well, I was walking when I wore it but I didn’t have quite as many rolls as her. See those lamb chops? She giggles when mom eats them and dad calls her chubby mcgubby or fatty mcgaddy.

Posted by Picasa

The driveway is more steep than it looks in this video. And I had a better video but when I grabbed the camera I didn’t realize the card was still in the computer from my last download. So I had to run BACK in the house to get the card and the boys were getting a little tired of posing by then. So you get what you get.

7 Responses to “Downhills mastered”

  1. Charlotte

    You are awsome!! My kids tires got holes in them a month and 1/2 ago and they still aren’t fixed!! Maybe I will get to that today.

  2. My Full Hands

    Looks like a lot of fun! I have some timid bike riders also. I think they get it from me, I didn’t get my training wheels off until I was nine!

    I love that your little girl is wearing a dress that belonged to you – I had one from when I was a baby and loved to put my daughters in it too. And yes, chunky baby legs are to die for :).

  3. Jeannie

    Your blog is great! It sounds like you are staying busy and having fun this summer with your kids. We will have to get together sometime soon!

  4. Rockholme Lodge

    Strange, isn’t it that Teancum is the one exhibiting the fear. He’s not exactly timid. I know he measures his risks before jumping, but I would’ve thought he’d figure it out as soon as he saw his brother do it.

    Your real fun will begin as soon as Hannah gains enough mobility to think she can follow them wherever they go!! You might need to pull out your old roller blades and practice up a bit. It’s the only hope you have for keeping up!

  5. Rockholme Lodge

    I remember that dress. Pretty good considering I was …. -6 when you were wearing it?!

  6. Brookeh

    Channing, Look at the rolls on that little one. I LOVE it! She is so adorable and getting so big! I miss you like crazy. I’m glad you guys are having fun. Give those kids a squeeze for me. You can say it’s from Maggie though if that will help the boys remember better. Lots of love.
    Brookeh

  7. Twinlinebackers

    Dad – your math still needs work but I am impressed you remember the dress especially considering it has a pinafore that usually goes with it.

    Brookeh – Like my boys don’t remember you. They LOVE you. I let the kids play at the mall playplace today and was surprised that my baby wanted to get down and crawl around too. It reminded me so much of Chadley crawling around my house at that age. We miss you guys!