Month of Recipes 2-80

Posted On November 17, 2008

Filed under Month of Meals

Comments Dropped 2 responses

Sorry, hope you weren’t counting on me for your dinner this week. I forgot to post and then my husband went out of town and who cooks if there isn’t a dad around? Kids smids.

Chicken Enchiladas
One night we went to dinner at a friend’s house and she served chicken enchiladas. I grew up in a fairly anti chicken house (no, we weren’t vegetarians. We were carnivores. My dad didn’t believe a meal counted as food unless there was a dead cow on the plate. And my mom didn’t believe in cooking unless dad liked the meal. See? I come by it honestly.) SO, point being, I grew up with beef enchiladas. I had never had chicken enchiladas. And never had enchiladas without red enchilada sauce. They were good. My husband loved them. So I rushed home and made them. 4 years later. Of course, my husband was skeptical but easily coerced. Good thing because his first choice was chicken pot pie which would have sent me to the cold cereal cupboard for my dinner.
(Are you to the point where you’re wondering if I’m ever going to give you the recipe? Ok, here it is).

Stirfry until nicely cooked:
1T butter + 1/2c green onion (my husband has requested I replace this with red onion next time)

Add:
1/2t garlic
1 can diced green chilis (which my kids love despite what they tell us every time we serve them)

Add:
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 c sour cream

Reserve 1/4 of sauce and some cheese to pour on the top.
Mix rest of sauce with shredded chicken. Roll into flour tortillas with cheese.

Bake 350 for 30 minutes.

2 Responses to “Month of Recipes 2-80”

  1. Care Bear

    I disagree…. chicken jalepeno? chicken paprika? michigan chicken? chicken monterrey?

    pretty sure I grew up eating those…and they ALL contain chicken… Just sayin

  2. Twinlinebackers

    My darling girl. When you were growing up Dad didn’t live there remember? But you’re right. We did occasionally have chicken. Like, when dad was TDY.