Velvet Chicken

Posted On November 18, 2008

Filed under Scratch Recipes

Comments Dropped leave a response

I had leftover enchiladas for dinner tonight since my husband was gone with the kids so instead I’ll tell you about a chicken staple my Papa used to call Velvet Chicken. The lovely part about this recipe is that you don’t have to touch slimy gross raw chicken. We like baked chicken cut into small tenders but don’t like paying for it to come that way. That means the unenviable job goes to me. Unless I make Velvet Chicken.

Stick large chicken pieces (can even be frozen) into just enough cold water to cover.
Sprinkle in garlic salt, bouillion and white wine.
Turn stove onto high until it boils. Turn off heat, cover with lid and let sit for 1 hr. If the pieces are not fully cooked, repeat the entire cooking process.

Shred the meat and use in a variety of ways. Use the liquid as chicken stock.

