Month of Meals #?

Posted On December 17, 2008

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped one response

Tonight I cooked dinner. Don’t they look excited?
Several months ago I made chili (I’m assuming that since you have to specifiy “con carne” if there are beans, then just the word “chili” implies no beans) that my husband (def: married man who believes food is only considered dinner if it includes some form of dead animal) loved. No meat and he loved it. Didn’t even include his usual vegetarian disclaimer “This would be really good with meat”. Too bad I have NO idea how I made that particular chili. So tonight we will try an ounce of recording.
Mom’s Chili
beef
pinto beans
black beans
garlic
red onion
salt
oregano
1 can whole tomatoes (chop up the tomatoes) – include the juice
(I assume this is the same as saying a can of crushed tomatoes but who knows. Maybe it was my special chopping that made it so delectable)
cumin
paprika
crushed red pepper
black pepper

For those of you who like me are out of chili powder, you might be interested to know it’s basically paprika, cumin, garlic and cayenne. I didn’t have cayenne so I substituted the red pepper.
For those of you who need amounts, please include the word “some” before all the ingredients above. Replace some with “lots” for the salt (because my homemade beans were totally bland) and garlic (because I’m half Italian. No, not really).

Posted by Picasa
One Response to “Month of Meals #?”

  1. Anonymous

    Blogger Care Bear said…

    I would hope they loved it. At 6 months old Tackler ate most of my bowl..and then some. I remember because I was sitting on the floor of your kitchen and he was holding onto my knees to get some more!!

    December 24, 2008 8:06 AM