I am like SO offended

Posted On January 8, 2009

Filed under Quotes

Comments Dropped 5 responses

I discovered a wonderful site from BYU Women’s Conference – the archives of all the talks from 1997. That’s 11 years of talks. And I don’t even have to go to Utah! I have been working my way through them, one a day. Some are short and funny. Some are long and take a lot of concentration. All are good. I am filling a journal of good thoughts and today came across a quote from this talk I had to broadcast.

“If someone drops an offense, don’t pick it up.” ~ Sister Elaine Jack

Isn’t that a priceless quote? Can you imagine all those pointed comments falling helplessly to the ground, ignored and lifeless? Next time someone tries to offend me I bet you will see me giggling at the thought of their offense lying alone on the ground. I certainly won’t be picking it up. As everyone tells me, I have my hands full.

5 Responses to “I am like SO offended”

  1. Jeanette

    I love reading the talks from Women’s conference. I’ve never been but I always eagerly await the publication of the talks.

  2. Charlotte

    That is a great quote! My problem isn’t picking it up and holding it, its kicking it right back in their faces. Probably shouldn’t do that either.

  3. Vee

    That is a wonderful quote. I love the imagery (is that how you spell that? Oh well).
    Oh and helpful tip from me. Don’t offend Charlotte. 😉

  4. Twinmomwv

    I love reading and listening to the talks from WC too. I’ve never been either cause I just haven’t been able to convince my hubby that I *need* to fly across the country for a week sans children. BTW, don’t you *hate* being told how full your hands are all the time?!

  5. Twinlinebackers

    Yes MomWV, that is my LEAST favorite comment because I just don’t have a good reply to tell them they are wrong without being rude. Usually I say either “Only two of them” or “Nope, still have one hand free” and wave it around depending on whether I actually have a free hand or not.