Hidden Kale

Posted On March 28, 2009

Filed under Cooking

Comments Dropped 3 responses

Did you know you can hide kale in things like smoothies (if you add blueberries it will be blue instead of green) and meatloaf (call it an herb and honestly assure everyone “Of course I didn’t add spinach to the meatloaf”; however you can NOT, I repeat NOT add kale to blueberry danish. I tried to convince the kids it wasn’t gross but I could only take 2 bites before the aftertaste knocked me off my feet. The only person who didn’t think it was gross was the baby but as she is only in the 25th percentile and eats 1% of her weight, it didn’t help much.

I’m not sure why I’m telling you. It’s not like you need the warning. I mean, it’s not like anyone but me would actually ATTEMPT it in the first place, but just in case you are taken over by veggie aliens who hate sugar and love nutrients and they try to talk you into it, tell them you’ll have a smoothie instead. Trust us.

But here is my question about green stuff? Why does that little bag of spinach cost half again what the big bag of kale costs? It was a LOT of work to get through that bag of kale. Spinach I can eat in two salads and be done. Not fair.

Posted by Picasa
3 Responses to “Hidden Kale”

  1. Charlotte

    I can’t ever see myself having this problem to solve. The only food I ever try to disguise is my chocolate in the cupboard.

  2. Vee

    That’s because Spinach is so much better than Kale. Yuck. I’m with Tackler and Prince. When we rented from Mike’s Grandpa, he grew Kale and then insisted that I cook all of it and feed it too him. Yeah you know my cooking skills. It was kinda a failure. Luckily he stopped insisting after that. 😉

  3. Chris and Holly

    Kale freezes really well. I buy two big bunches at a time, wash it, then cram it into two mason jars and stick it in the freezer. It breaks up nice and small when you jab it with a fork while still frozen and then you can dump what you want into your smoothies. I’ve heard some recipes are really awesome with it but I haven’t found them. Smoothies are so much better. And I like leaving my smoothies green!