Eggplant Stirfry

Posted On August 2, 2009

Filed under What to Eat

Comments Dropped one response

This week we went to a car show which had a farmer’s market. (Don’t those two always go together?) We bought sweet peppers, eggplant and yellow squash. This morning I threw away one squash because it went bad. This afternoon I threw away the other 3. Tonight I decided I better dig into the eggplant before it went bad too. We had a fabulous dinner. Prince agreed. The other two didn’t. Dad wasn’t home or he would have sided with the naysayers because it was a delicious vegetarian stirfry.

Here is the official recipe from allrecipes:

  • 2 large eggplants, cut into cubes (just one in case I didn’t like it)
  • salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (I used “some”)
  • 1 large onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (1T)
  • 1 cup whole almonds, skin removed (a handful)
  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved and seeded (1 1/2 regular tomatoes – I would have used more but I’m stingy about my tomatoes since my favorite way to eat them is raw, sprinkled with sea salt))
  • 4 mint leaves, sliced (didn’t have any)
  • 2 tablespoons white wine
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder (I’m didn’t have any)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley (I got it out but forgot to add it)
  • (I added diced sweet pepper)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Place the eggplant in a colander and sprinkle with salt. Set the colander in the sink to drain off liquid, about 20 minutes. (There wasn’t any excess liquid. Is that ok?) Pat the cubes with paper towel to remove excess salt. (forgot this but didn’t need to)
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook the onion in the oil until translucent. Add the garlic; cook and stir another 2 minutes. Stir in the eggplant and almonds, cooking and stirring until the eggplant is tender, but not mushy, about 20 minutes.
  3. When the eggplant is cooked through, mix in the tomatoes, mint, white wine, sugar, salt, and chili powder. (I added the tomatoes at the very end because I didn’t want them cooked very long) Cook mixture for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally; remove from heat and garnish with parsley. (and serve over brown rice)

It was DELICIOUS. We’ll be making this again.

One Response to “Eggplant Stirfry”

  1. The Lazy Organizer

    It sounds perfect! I have two eggplants sitting in the fridge right at this very moment. I will stir fry them up as soon as Sailor gets home.