Fruitloop Post

Posted On August 11, 2009

Filed under What to Eat

Comments Dropped leave a response

I have a secret I have been hiding from you.

Everyone already knows I am a wacko when it comes to food – whole wheat, limited sugar, no high fructose corn syrup, no long lists of ingredients I can’t produce. I know, what a weirdo.

Did you know I also drink green smoothies? Probably not because I disguise the color with blueberries so I actually drink blue smoothies. But wait. It gets worse.

I recently turned a little bit more into one of those people my husband thinks are total wackos. I stopped drinking milk.

It suddenly dawned on me that I wasn’t a calf afterall. Actually I read this article. Don’t knock it until you read the article. Then feel free to say whatever you like. Just think about this (after you read it) – we have two milk drinkers in our house. And two people with allergies. Guess what? Same two people.

Eliminating milk itself wasn’t hard for me since I discovered years ago that it caused flareups in my colitis. However, giving up cheese is a completely different matter. Until two weeks ago I had no idea how to cook a single meal without cheese. My very first snack after giving up dairy was a grilled cheese sandwich. I’ve improved since then.

I have even started making rice milk and converted 1 and 2/3 kids over to it.
Pretty Girl is 100% converted. She will drink it plain and eat it on cereal.
Prince will eat it in oatmeal and other things w/o a complaint but not plain.
Tackler will gobble it up in oatmeal but complain bitterly.

Try it. See if you feel better. I dare you.

