Potato Pancakes

Posted On August 12, 2009

Filed under What to Eat

Comments Dropped leave a response

  • 2 pounds russet (baking) or Yukon Gold potatoes
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped scallions, including the green part
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • Vegetable oil for frying

Preparation

We bought a big bag of potatoes last week but it’s been too hot and humid to use the oven so I decided to try potato pancakes. Here is the link if you want the real recipe otherwise, here is my shorthand method of cooking:

Shred potatoes. Add diced onion, green pepper, 1 egg, pepper and sea salt.

Take a small handful and flatten. Fry until golden on both sides.

Eat immediately or if you have leftovers (why would you have leftovers?) you can recrisp them in the oven at 350. But you might want to wait until this humidity ends before you turn on your oven or you might as well have a baked potato afterall.

Post note: I typed this before I tried them and fortunately they were very good. However, I recommend you go read the real recipe and follow the directions about draining the potatoes first. I never realized how much water a potato held.
Also, I did have leftovers because I had to run to football practice before I even finished cooking and they were very good reheated in the toaster oven which didn’t create too much heat in the house.

