Oh what do you do in the Summertime?

Posted On August 31, 2009

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 3 responses

Phew. I finally caught up on May pictures and have NO idea what happened in June because when I tried to download those pictures (back in June believe it or not) the computer erased them instead of saving them. I’m sure it wasn’t a user error. That would make it MY fault.
Thankfully we only lost about 100 priceless memories. That’s nothing compared to the 1240 I downloaded yesterday. Yep, 1240. That’s how many pictures I have yet to blog from this summer. Are you ready for the enslaught?

~

Our big event for this summer was a trip across country. I wasn’t exactly looking forward to it (sorry mom and dad) so decided it would be best to just zoom across and be done (or half done I suppose). I had a plan for getting my pregnant self and 3 small children roughly 2000 miles in 2 1/2 days. Then my aunt had to louse things up by wanting to see me (life is SO rough when you’re loved) so we added a couple detours, a few miles, and several days, and pretended like this was supposed to be a vacation.We left at the crack of dawn (yes, I am capable of waking up early) and drove to upstate New York to see my great Aunt and some 2nd cousins. (Cousin Carol if you read my blog, apparently I don’t have pictures of our time at your house – if you send me some you too can be famous). My Aunt is a doll collector. She lives in a wonderful old farmhouse (same one she grew up in) and EVERY square inch is filled with dolls. The kids were amazed, intrigued, and utterly entertained.
Poor Pretty Girl discovered there were toys besides blocks and trucks. She fell in love with a wicker baby buggy and carefully cradled one baby doll after another for a walk around the attic. My dear aunt said “if she loves it that much, she can have it” and Pretty Girl understood. She would not let go of it. Anywhere we went in the house, she HAD to have it beside her. When I went to the car for something, she insisted on joining me and also insisted on bringing along her buggy. She let go of the buggy in the car, left it there and didn’t ask for it again. My crazy one year old knew how to ensure she got to keep her promised baby buggy.
The house has a bazillion bedrooms but for some reason we ended up in one double bed. I won’t say I slept well on my quarter of it but we hit the road by 8am and dad eventually forgave me for forgetting to call to tell him we had arrived. My communication skills improved a teeny bit after that lashing. Come back soon to hear how long we sat in Chicago rush hour traffic on day 2.

3 Responses to “Oh what do you do in the Summertime?”

  1. Vi 12s

    I love the pic of them all sleeping!!

  2. Sally

    So cute! Does she have a doll to go in the buggy?

  3. Twinlinebackers

    Yes, but that doesn't happen until much later in the story. Stay tuned!