Best salad in the world

Posted On November 24, 2009

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

Stir fry chopped walnuts in some butter, cinnamon and brown sugar.  Toss on baby spinach with craisens and chicken and top with poppyseed dressing.  If you have delectables like pears and goat cheese they would make it even better but this salad was a crowd pleaser.  I got less than half after my 3 kids helped me with my lunch.

Nance the Great’s Poppyseed Dressing

1/2c sugar

1t dry mustard

1t salt

1/3c cider vinegar

1T grated onion (I never add this because I’m lazy)

Blend with a blender or stick blender and slowly add

3/4c oil

Stir in 1t poppy seeds

2 Responses to “Best salad in the world”

  1. The Lazy Organizer

    I’m a little bit blind so when you wrote, “Stir in 1 t poppy seeds,” I thought it said, “Stir in 11 poppy seeds.” What a strange recipe!

    We picked boxes of pairs from a friend’s trees this year and I ate pear salad almost every day for weeks. I usually grated a carrot in it just to add some extra veggies. Do you like balsamic vinegar? That’s what I used in my dressing. I’ll have to try it with the apple cider vinegar some time.

  2. Karen

    Thanks! I’m going to try this next week. Looks delicious! So do your husbands fajitas. I think we’ll make some home-made tortillas for our family work-project sometime next week. I love them, but they’re so time consuming that I rarely get around to making them. You motivated me to try again though. I’m getting hungry…good think it’s Thanksgiving!