Garden Veggie Soup with Cheesy Biscuits

Posted On February 18, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 4 responses

“This is better than storebought.”  “This is better than in a restaurant.”  “This is the best soup in the world.”

You just can’t beat accolades like that.  Even if your audience has never had storebought soup or soup in a restaurant.  The alternative is “Yuck” so I’m thrilled.  Especially since it was just veggies and water.  Here is tonight’s recipe, though it is infinitely adjustable.  Thank goodness since I am working on a weekly menu plan and we will be eating soup every Wednesday for a while.

2c chicken broth

1/4c pureed cauliflower

1/4c pureed butternut squash

corn

peas

chopped broccoli

chopped cauliflower

The chopped veggies are to give it substance.  The pureed veggies are to give it a teeny bit of thickness and some flavor.

Served with cheese biscuits from the cookbook The Sugar Free Toddler (which would make a great present for me if anyone is searching):

1 1/4c ww flour

3/4c white flour (I tripled the ww vs white ratio)

4teaspoons baking powder

pinch of salt

1/3c oil

2/3c milk (I didn’t try almond milk because I wanted to see how they turned out first but next time I’ll try half and the next time all…cow’s milk bothers me)

1/2c cheddar cheese (I actually used mozz because it was already shredded but whatever)

475 for 12 min.

4 Responses to “Garden Veggie Soup with Cheesy Biscuits”

  1. Linda Badurek

    Sounds good! You need Buffy’s Tuscan Soup recipe if you are going to do soup every Wednesday! C1 has a Taco Soup, I think he called it…and Carolyn has a Tortilla Soup that is yummy. I will see if I can find those for you.
    Where were the cute pictures taken?

  2. Anonymous

    Are you opposed to honey for your kids? My mom is on a no-sugar diet (and so are Chelsea and my Dad) and made amazing things while she was here. She and Whitney made desserts everyday and Whitney had no idea she was sans sugar for a solid month! And that made me one happy mama! So if you want a couple no-sugar treats, I’ll share mine!

  3. Anonymous

    Sorry, didn’t mean to be anonymous- that was Holly. I’d love Buffy’s soup recipe too. Chris’s taco soup is easy- season ground beef with one packet of taco seasoning. Add diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, kidney and white beans, diced chilies, corn, some water. He adds more chili powder, i don’t. You serve it over chips (the original recipe was over fritos but I do corn chips) and cheese on top.

  4. Heidi

    I have never thought of adding pureed foods to thicken soups. Good idea!