A Room of Our Own

Posted On February 23, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

6 year olds are so adaptable.

We have been waiting for a LONG time for a school room.  If you don’t remember the whole story, we had an extra room upstairs on the bedroom level.  An unfinished room used as a workshop.

We decided it would make a wonderful school room.  So, over the course of a year, he took the 1/2 part of our 2.5 car garage, tore down a wall, built a new wall, replaced a window and a door and built shelves.

Then he moved everything from the old workshop to the front porch.  While I reveled in the first impression that gave to visitors we took a break to have a baby.

Finally, with the help of some gracious missionaries, he managed to move everything out to the new workshop.  Finally we had an empty room.  He added sheetrock, then we changed our design plans a few times.  He built a new wall (in progress in this picture) and sheetrocked it.  He ordered and installed a door.  He ordered new windows.  The room has now been mudded and primed.  We are waiting on heat, carpet, windows and paint.

In the meantime, I was going crazy with school stuff trailing across 3 rooms (kitchen, living room and dining room) so Warrior built one of shelves that go in the new room and we moved everything out of the kitchen and into the sewing room.

The kids fight over their “desks” but seem to be coping just fine.  I’m the only one impatient for a REAL room.  Mostly I just want all the cubbies and cabinets I get.  I am promised that in 3 weeks all my dreams will come true.

Ok, now the warm weather dream but lots of organization.  What more could a girl want?  Besides warm weather I mean.

2 Responses to “A Room of Our Own”

  1. Karen

    Wow! That looks like quite the project! I can’t wait to see the finished product! I bet it will be fun to organize it all!

  2. Heidi

    It’s been three weeks…do you have finished room yet? :o) I think that would be a fun project to get to organize. How is school going?