Lunch: Quick. Easy. Infinitely Versatile.

Posted On May 24, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 3 responses

On an almost daily basis I find myself asking “What can I cook without any ingredients?”  Maybe eventually I will actually have food in the house and know what I’m cooking.  Maybe.

Until then, I keep searching for recipes with ingredients that can stay in my cupbaords at all times.  Or flexible ingredient lists.

This week I discovered potato pancakes.

Shred potato, sweet potato, beets

Add egg, s&p, green onion.

Fry til golden and crispy.

The lovely versatile part is that any root vegetable will do.  And practically anything else can be added.  The sweet potatoes made them taste sweet.  The beets made them pretty.  The sky is the limit.  Fortunately, all 3 kids loved them and they were a great pack lunch because I see these a lot in our future.

3 Responses to “Lunch: Quick. Easy. Infinitely Versatile.”

  1. lazyorganizer

    Great idea! I have discovered that if I serve potatoes with every meal, no one goes hungry. Potatoes. It’s what’s for dinner.

    All my children like the little red or gold potatoes steamed with salt and pepper and hot sauce. Then I can serve them again cold the next day for lunch. Easy!

  2. Brookeh

    So I was thinking this very same thing as I was checking my blogroll and came across your post. What a great idea. Except I don’t have any potatoes, or beets, or green onions. Hmmm. Maybe I better go shopping! I miss you, and your ingenuity!

  3. Holly

    Hi!! These are called birds nests! I love any food with a cute name.