Lesson #7: You are allowed to decrease to zero

Posted On June 20, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

I recently switched our diets a bit.  I have always been a healthy cook – whole wheat, brown rice, low sugar, no processed.  But we struggled a bit with veggies.  I tried a million different ways to add more veggies and less meat into our meals.

First I tried several side dishes but people (namely Warrior) would pick and eat just one of the four. 

So I made casseroles and stir fry where I could skimp on the meat and fill in with more veggies.  I challenged myself to spread a large package of chicken across 3 dinners instead of just one.  But it was a lot of work and I still had to deal with raw meat which since my last pregnancy has grossed me out.

And then I ate dinner at my friend’s house for a week.  She did not serve any meat.  Or dairy.  (Something I had wanted to go off and had tried to go off but didn’t think I could).  And due to her daughter’s allergy, we hardly even had wheat.

If you’re counting, that pretty much just left vegetables.  And you know what?  For the first time EVER, I got full.  The kids whined a little and then settled in.  And  I was in pure heaven.

I discovered I had been going about the decreasing meat thing all wrong.  I didn’t need to sneak it out.  Just LEAVE it out.   I’ll tell you a little more about how this has worked out in practice when we get to the Florida portion of my travels.  For now, just know that I learned a lesson that food doesn’t have to be difficult.  It can just be yummy.

2 Responses to “Lesson #7: You are allowed to decrease to zero”

  1. Mutti

    …and? What? You are leaving me hanging here…???

  2. Lara Gallagher

    Wow, your friend sounds awesome and look how cute your children are together!! Can’t wait to hear what you learned when you fell off the face of the earth. I mean when you were in Florida.