What to do with all that zucchini?

Posted On July 20, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 3 responses

While visiting a neighbor, a woman was offered some zucchini so she tentatively took one and was told to take 2.  She took 2 and was offered 3.  She took 3 and was told “Take all you want.”  She put them all back and hurried away.

Zucchini gets a bad rap doesn’t it?  I used to have a recipe in my box called “zucchini that is actually edible”.  But the more you eat it, the better it tastes.  I was recently asked how to use up all the zucchini growing in a friend’s yard.  Here is my answer for anyone else with a bumper crop:

1. Give some to me.

2. Zucchini bread (yeah yeah but LOTS of sugar)

3.  Give some to me.

4.  Potato pancakes (see here) but with zucchini instead (you can use ANY root vegetable).  You can go through a lot of zucchini with these.

5. Give some to me.

6. Sliced and broiled with olive oil and sea salt.  Serve with a bunch of other broiled veggies – onions, peppers, asparagus, you name it.  And then invite me to dinner.

7. Pizza crust.  You think I’m kidding.  I found this in my cookbook and thought, “that’s weird.”  I decided to take the risk and try it.  Warrior was dubious.  He said “That’s weird”.  I know.  It is.  BUT OH MY GOODNESS WAS IT GOOD.

3c shredded zucchini

3/4c egg (the recipe called for egg substitute and I figure all eggs are a different size so I’ll just leave it at that.  I believe it was about 3 eggs but mine are big.)

1/3c flour

1/2c sea salt

Mix it all up and bake for 8 min on 450 (maybe a little longer so it starts to brown a teeny bit).  Then take it out and add regular pizza stuff (mozzarella and toppings, not pizza sauce) and bake at 350 until cheese is melted and browning.

Crazy but try it.  Hopefully you’ll like it.  My kids do.  Warrior doesn’t.  But to be fair, he didn’t try it.

8.  If you STILL have some left over, give me a call.  I’ll come get it myself.

3 Responses to “What to do with all that zucchini?”

  1. Mutti

    I have a couple. Come help me fix something wonderful. Granny used to make pineapple jam with it. Delicious! Warrior wouldn’t even know if you didn’t tell him! What gorgeous pictures! What a beautiful family you are!!!

  2. Little Bird

    what beautiful family pictures! the only thing missing is the sandbox! 😉 we miss you!!!!

  3. Valerie

    Okay, I’m going to have to try zucchini pizza crust. I am so intrigued! But I’m curious, why no sauce? Is this inherent with the recipe or just a preference of the author? Either way, we will give it a try with the gluten free version!

    Barefoot says: I am not sure. I’m not a fan of red sauce so I was just happy to leave it off but it might be good with it. Let me know how you like it.