Not exactly all fun and games

Posted On July 31, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

When I wondered in THIS post why life at home is so much more complicated than life on the road, someone responded “Because on the road there is maid service.”  Ha. Ha.  Apparently I did not clearly explain my treks.  Life on the road, though fun because we always have fun, was not exactly a playground (despite the pictures).  Let’s see if I can recap the troubles we had.

  • A VERY sick child – if you recall, in Utah we all got sick – except Prince.  What he lacked in immediacy, he made up for in intensity.  He was sick enough for all 4 of us.  Burning fever, lethargic, and all round ugh.  Poor kid had been begging to come to Colorado to play in the bunkhouse and then spent (what we thought was) the first half lying in bed so sick that he asked me if he was going to die.  He finally got better just in time for the round of …
  • PINK EYE!  Pink eye is so fun.  The droopy, watery, gunky eyes (notice photos of Pretty Girl).  And when you ALL have it and some of you are too little to understand not rubbing your eyes it just goes on and on and on.  Pretty Girl had such a bad case she woke up many times (middle of the night, morning and naps) crying because her eyes were glued shut.

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • After all that fun we packed up (for the 1st of 4 times) to drive the 2000 miles home.  Made it 2 miles and my transmission broke.  Shot.  Gone.  Waited by the roadside for a couple hours while we waited for someone with enough seats in their car to rescue all of us and hauled the car away where it was held hostage.  I won’t go into details but it was a NIGHTMARE.
  • I kept promising the kids “we’ll leave tomorrow” and we kept not.  Imagine 3 kids who haven’t seen their dad for a month begging for 3 days in the car so they can see him and a mom that keeps promising false hope.  It was not a pretty scene.  No amount of maid service can pick up that kind of mess.
  • Got the car back but the transmission still wasn’t fixed so I had to pay more money somewhere else for them to do it wrong.  Yes, that’s right.  I said wrong.
  • I gave him my sob story and begged him to please, please finish quickly so we could leave town.
  • He did.
  • I didn’t.
  • Instead I took my mom to the ER and stuck around another week or two to nurse her back to health.
  • Then I took my car back (sheepishly admitting that I hadn’t left town afterall) and asked them to please fix my car correctly this time.
  • They didn’t (but I didn’t know that until I got home where it was finally fixed).
  • And we all lived happily ever after.

Summary: No maid service.  Unless you count me as the maid because I certainly mopped up enough troubles.

Now do you understand why I’m puzzled about why life seems harder at HOME?

2 Responses to “Not exactly all fun and games”

  1. Mutti

    YEP! Simply can’t imagine it being harder on you than it was here! You held up beautifully here!

  2. Mutti

    Me, again… Great slide show! I know that play ground! That is the one where the Cookie Lady comes and brings us cookies while we play! Thanks, Cookie Lady!