Is that all I have left?

Posted On August 13, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

I was talking to a friend yesterday just before we went blueberry picking.  I said this summer has felt short.  She said it has seemed long enough.  She’s had a good summer, until I calculated that her daughter goes back to school in just under 3 weeks.  Dumbfounded she asked, “Is that all I have left?”

Yep that’s it.  In 3 weeks she will lose her 6 year old for 8 hours a day.  Back to the clutches of strangers and red tape administration.  I am sure her teachers will love her and love their job and all will be well.  But all my friend has left is 3 weeks before they go back to the grind and stress of school and she loses a little more control over her daughter’s life.

In 3 weeks life for us will be exactly the same.  We school all year because I am not sure what life looks like without education.  We never finished last year’s curriculum because we never managed to run out of things to learn or do.  So when we start up again this fall, it will look just like it looked all summer.  Minus the blueberry picking.

Speaking of blueberry picking….I started to type that berries had nothing to do with this post but I realized they have everything to do with it.  The lady at the berry farm was a little bit rude.  When my boys asked a question.  When they made a comment.  Even when she just thought they might do something wrong.  She was rude.  Not overly rude.  Not rude enough to make this momma bear pounce to defend her young.  Just enough to make me bristle.

It was enough to make them hesitant when they talked.  To make them second guess what they might say.  For an hour I allowed it.  But what if they were treated that way for 8 hours every day?

They aren’t mature enough yet to not care.  They don’t have the confidence yet to brush it off and wonder why she is so grouchy.  They would begin to doubt themselves and I can’t allow that to happen.

Occasionally I am asked why I homeschool.  The answers are to multitudinous for a concise response, but this year a valedictorian summed it up nicely for me.  Watch HERE, then join me in a hearty rah! rah!

Photos: In April.  In Colorado.  One more post and we’ll head east.  Then south.

2 Responses to “Is that all I have left?”

  1. Mutti

    Having all of you in Colorado in April certainly puts me in favor of Home Schooling… You could do it in my home as well as in yours… I loved it!

  2. Brookeh

    That clip was so sad. At least she realizes now that she needs to decide what she wants to do with her life. I’m glad that wasn’t me in high school. I may not have had straight A’s but at least I didn’t waste the experience.
    Keep up the good work. Your kids are so lucky to have you as their mom.