We’re home. Or not.

Posted On August 29, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 4 responses

Once we finally got out of Colorado, it was smooth sailing home.  Afterall, it’s only a two day drive.
We spent the first night in Kansas City with some dear friends of my parents.  I have seen them occasionally throughout my life.  The most recent was while I was in college and happened to live in the same town where their daughter got married so I represented my family at the wedding.  And discovered my roommate there.  She grew up with one of their daughters.  It was delightful to be in their company again.  And nice to be so earnestly watched over for the 36 hrs they considered me in their care (including the day before and the day after my stay).

Thankfully they stopped calling to check up on me before the end of the next night.  Because I don’t think they would have been happy with my resting spot.  It was what some might call “non existent”.

I had a place to stay in Ohio but it fell through so I just kept driving thinking I would pull over when I got tired.  The problem is, once I even considered getting tired, the 4 kids were asleep.

I had a choice.  I could carry 4 sleeping children and all our gear into a hotel alone – I did it with two sleeping children in Utah and it was a balancing act to say the least.

Or I could stay seated and just keep driving in a straight line for another 14 hours.  I took the lazy option and kept driving.

My mom and husband were THRILLED.  Around midnight I had this conversation with my sister:

Me: I’m still driving but don’t tell mom.

Sister: Mom just IM’d me.  She wants to know if I’ve heard from you.

Me: Oh.

Sister: What do you want me to tell her?

Me: I don’t know.

Sister: Why did you have to drag me into this?

I eventually made it home.  Safe and sound.  Though a tad shaken because as I was pinching myself to stay awake I passed the 3 WORST accidents I have EVER seen in my life.  Not fender benders.  Fires, crushed cars, smashed in delivery trucks, the works.

I was home for a total of 10 days.  Yep.  10.  In those ten days I unpacked, switched 4 kids clothes over from winter to summer from the attic, repacked and told my husband “I missed you these past 2 months.  See ya next month”.  And I headed back out the door to go to see the cousins and in laws you see above.

4 Responses to “We’re home. Or not.”

  1. Just Lara

    How do you drive when you’re tired? It is physically impossible for me. I’m such a baby.

    You’ve been home a long time now. When’s your next adventure?

  2. Mutti

    HOW? You ask? She practices! Why not ask her how many times she has done this? …and just so he can’t get made at her, ask Warrior who taught her this could even be done??? No, on second thought, don’t. There won’t be any stopping her…

  3. Tante

    I’m pretty sure our conversation was a bit more animated then that! 🙂

  4. Sally

    The question is – are you really home now? For all I know you’ve scheduled these posts and your driving cross country right now!